Back to All Events

WITH THE GRAIN


  • AZ Gallery 308 Prince Street Saint Paul, MN 55001 United States (map)

Trees provide shelter, building materials, shade, food, warmth, a place to sit or nest, a place to climb, play, and more. They have been celebrated, venerated, feared, worshipped, and cut down. Join us for an all media, juried exhibition that explores all aspects of trees in art, from raw material to inspiration and everything in between.

Artist Reception | August 10, 2019 from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

  • Wood-craft Demonstration by Don Johnson

  • Cajón Drum Facilitation by Empowered Percussion

  • Edible Tree Sample Bar

  • Public Reveal of The Elm Tree Story Booth

    Created by: Public Artist David Aichinger of the Standing Cedars Workshop

  • Micro-forest Treasure Hunt

  • Wood Games

Elm Tree Story Booth - a ten-foot, hand-built, elm-shaped tree commissioned by the Natural Heritage Project, retrofitted with a recording device and open for public discourse on personal interactions with nature.


PARTNERS

Urban Boat Builders - http://urbanboatbuilders.org/

Empowered Percussion - https://empoweredcajons.bigcartel.com/

Standing Cedars Workshop - https://www.standingcedarsworkshop.com/

AZ Gallery - http://www.theazgallery.org/

ARTISTS

Amy Clark - https://amyclarkartstpaul.com/

Beth Stoneberg - http://www.bethstoneberg.com/

Caprice Glaser - http://www.capriceglaser.com

Christopher Aaron Deanes - https://www.christopheraarond.com/

Deanna Grigus

Don Johnson

Gene Kuschnir - http://www.genekuschnir.com/

Jessica Turtle - https://www.jessicaturtle.art/

Karen Tisel Fast

Kat Nottingham - https://www.katnottingham.com/

Kim Garretson - https://cocktailtwistart.com

Mary Nagel Klein - https://www.nagelklein.com/

Nathan White - https://www.npwoodworks.com

Nicholas Klofkorn - mypotsare.forsale

Wynn Davis

Zak Fellman - https://hvrnt.com




Earlier Event: April 9
BIRDS OF A FEATHER
Later Event: November 13
IN YOUR ELEMENT